The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley)
The Young Offenders

The Young Offenders

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Three / BBC One
  • 2018 - 2020
  • 19 episodes (3 series)

Comedy series about two inner-city teenagers, based on the 2016 Irish film of the same name. Stars Chris Walley, Alex Murphy, Hilary Rose, Jennifer Barry, Demi Isaac Oviawe and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 1

The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley)
With a new arrival on the way, Jock is getting anxious and Principal Walsh isn't helping. But a challenge to Jock brings about surprising results.

Preview clips

Further details

The best friends navigate their awkward teenage years, hatching plans and adventures to help distract from their tough home lives and their inability to stay out of trouble at school, with the new complications of sustaining relationships and an impending new arrival!

With a new arrival on the way everyone is getting anxious, particularly Jock. A challenge from Principal Walsh puts not only Jock, but everyone involved under even more pressure.

Meanwhile, Mairéad has been at her wits end with Sergeant Healy, whose day-to-day presence in the house is driving her insane and leading to serious tension.

Broadcast details

Sunday 3rd November 2019
BBC Three
29 minutes, 38 seconds


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 11th November 2019 10:35pm BBC1
Monday 11th November 2019 11:05pm BBC1 Wales
Monday 11th November 2019 11:35pm BBC1 Scot
Tuesday 16th May 2023 10:10pm BBC3
Wednesday 17th May 2023 1:50am BBC3
Tuesday 26th March 2024 11:00pm BBC3
Wednesday 27th March 2024 1:50am BBC3

Cast & crew

Chris Walley Jock O'Keeffe
Alex Murphy Conor MacSweeney
Hilary Rose Mairead MacSweeney
Jennifer Barry Siobhan Walsh
Demi Isaac Oviawe Linda Walsh
PJ Gallagher Principal Barry Walsh
Orla Fitzgerald Orla Walsh
Dominic MacHale Sergeant Healy
Shane Casey Billy Murphy
Guest cast
Valerie O'Leary Midwife
Gerry Kelly Teacher
Ruth Hayes Doctor
Writing team
Peter Foott Writer
Ross Browne Writer (Additional Material)
Jocelyn Clarke Executive Story Editor
Production team
Tom Marshall Director
Tim Whitby Producer
Peter Foott Executive Producer
Lotte Beasley Executive Producer
Abby Singer Executive Producer
Justin Healy Executive Producer
Martina Niland Executive Producer
Alex Moody Executive Producer
Ailish Bracken Line Producer
Cormac Fox Associate Producer
Michael Doherty Associate Producer
Julian Ulrichs Editor
Owen Power Production Designer
Mike Foott Casting Director
Patrick Jordan Director of Photography
Lara Campbell Costume Designer
Ray Harman Composer
Jonathan Shaw 1st Assistant Director


The Four Plays

For Conor's first time, it's essential Jock teaches him the Four Plays.

Featuring: Chris Walley (Jock O'Keeffe), Alex Murphy (Conor MacSweeney) & Demi Isaac Oviawe (Linda Walsh).

Share this page