The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley)
The Young Offenders

The Young Offenders

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC Three / BBC One
  • 2018 - 2020
  • 19 episodes (3 series)

Comedy series about two inner-city teenagers, based on the 2016 Irish film of the same name. Stars Chris Walley, Alex Murphy, Hilary Rose, Jennifer Barry, Demi Isaac Oviawe and more.

Episode menu

Series 2, Episode 5

The Young Offenders. Image shows from L to R: Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy), Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley), Dinny Molloy (Ned Dennehy)
Billy Murphy enlists the help of Conor, Jock, and eventually Mairéad, to avoid getting killed by a former cellmate of his who has just been released from prison.

Broadcast details

Sunday 3rd November 2019
BBC Three
30 minutes, 32 seconds


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Monday 9th December 2019 10:45pm BBC1
Monday 9th December 2019 11:05pm BBC1 Scot
Monday 9th December 2019 11:15pm BBC1 Wales
Tuesday 30th May 2023 10:10pm BBC3
Wednesday 31st May 2023 12:55am BBC3
Tuesday 9th April 2024 10:50pm BBC3
Wednesday 10th April 2024 2:05am BBC3

Cast & crew

Chris Walley Jock O'Keeffe
Alex Murphy Conor MacSweeney
Hilary Rose Mairead MacSweeney
Dominic MacHale Sergeant Healy
Shane Casey Billy Murphy
Guest cast
Judy Donovan Shopkeeper
Ned Dennehy Dinny Molloy
Kellie O'Gorman Young Girl
John Corcoran Young Lad
Jamie Forde Graffiti Kid
Darren Stewart Tiny Kid
Writing team
Peter Foott Writer
Ross Browne Writer (Additional Material)
Jocelyn Clarke Executive Story Editor
David Ireland Writer
Peter Foott Story
Production team
Jim Archer Director
Tim Whitby Producer
Peter Foott Executive Producer
Lotte Beasley Mestriner (as Lotte Beasley) Executive Producer
Abby Singer Executive Producer
Justin Healy Executive Producer
Shane Murphy Executive Producer
Martina Niland Executive Producer
Alex Moody Executive Producer
Ailish Bracken Line Producer
Cormac Fox Associate Producer
Michael Doherty Associate Producer
Hugh Chaloner Editor
Owen Power Production Designer
Mike Foott Casting Director
Patrick Jordan Director of Photography
Lara Campbell Costume Designer
Ray Harman Composer
Anna Harrison 1st Assistant Director

Share this page