Nightingales. Image shows from L to R: Bell (David Threlfall), Sarge (James Ellis), Carter (Robert Lindsay).


Channel 4 sitcom about night security guards. 13 episodes (2 series), 1990 - 1993. Stars Robert Lindsay, David Threlfall and James Ellis.

Nightingales - The Complete Series

Nightingales - The Complete Series

First transmitted on Channel 4 in 1990, Nightingales focuses on three security guards who have the unenviable task of working the graveyard shift in a tower block, a situation which regularly turns to the surreal. A werewolf that performs open-heart surgery, bouts of Shakespearian verse and an undercover police operation are just some of the bizarre situations - and confrontations - the trio find themselves in.

Starring the acclaimed Robert Lindsay as Carter, David Threlfall and James Ellis, Nightingales was a critical success when first transmitted and is still fondly remembered to this day. As well as featuring an all-star cast, Nightingales was written by Paul Makin (Goodnight Sweetheart) and directed by the acclaimed Tony Dow (Only Fools And Horses, The Keith Barret Show).

This two-disc set contains all of the episodes from both series of the unhinged sitcom.

First released: Thursday 27th March 2008

  • Distributor: Network
  • Region: 2
  • Discs: 2
  • Catalogue: 7952411

musicMagpie Buy and sell old and new items
Search for this product on eBay