Moone Boy. Image shows from L to R: Sean Murphy (Chris O'Dowd), Martin (David Rawle).

Moone Boy

Sky One sitcom about a young boy. 20 episodes (3 series), 2012 - 2015. Stars David Rawle, Chris O'Dowd, Ian O'Reilly, Deirdre O'Kane and others.


Both of Chris O'Dowd's parents were extras in the first series. His mother was an assistant in Feeley's Fish Factory, whilst his father walked past the character based on him on Boyle's main road, exchanging a wink.

Sean Murphy is named after Chris O'Dowd's father, Sean O'Dowd.

Father Linehan - played by Mark Doherty - is named after Graham Linehan, creator and writer of Channel 4 sitcom The IT Crowd, in which Chris O'Dowd first found fame.