Hot Metal. Image shows from L to R: Greg Kettle (Richard Kane), Max Rutherford (Geoffrey Hutchings), Bill Tytla (John Gordon Sinclair), Russell Spam (Robert Hardy), Harry Stringer (Geoffrey Palmer). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Hot Metal

ITV sitcom about a newspaper. 12 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1989. Stars Robert Hardy, Geoffrey Palmer, Geoffrey Hutchings, Richard Kane and others.

Hot Metal. Richard 'Dicky' Lipton (Richard Wilson). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Hot Metal

Biting newspaper satire by Andrew Marshall and David Renwick, set in the offices of the once high-brow, now populist tabloid, Daily Crucible

1986 - 1989
12   (2 series), plus 1 Comic Relief special
Robert Hardy, Geoffrey Palmer, Geoffrey Hutchings, Richard Kane, John Gordon Sinclair, Richard Wilson, David Barrass and Caroline Milmoe
Andrew Marshall and David Renwick
David Askey and Nic Phillips
Humphrey Barclay

The Daily Crucible, a respectable daily newspaper, is facing its final edition; its straight-forward, totally-honest approach to reporting the news has won it much attention, but made it deadly dull and with ever-diminishing sales figures.

Enter Twiggy Rathbone, tycoon owner of Rathouse International who's ready to turn the high-brow paper into a popular, sleazy, high-selling tabloid. He installs editor Russell Spam to do his bidding and 'promotes' the incumbent, Harry Stringer, to the role of 'managing editor' - a largely vanity role but holding what will become an increasingly difficult public face of respectability...

Production Details

Production company
Theme tune, Papers, written, composed and performed by Alan Price.
Laugh track
Live audience

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Sunday 16th February 1986 on ITV at 10pm
Last new broadcast
Friday 10th March 1989 on BBC One at 10pm

Website links