Hot Metal. Image shows from L to R: Greg Kettle (Richard Kane), Max Rutherford (Geoffrey Hutchings), Bill Tytla (John Gordon Sinclair), Russell Spam (Robert Hardy), Harry Stringer (Geoffrey Palmer). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Hot Metal

ITV sitcom about a newspaper. 12 episodes (2 series), 1986 - 1989. Stars Robert Hardy, Geoffrey Palmer, Geoffrey Hutchings, Richard Kane and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
Robert Hardy Terence 'Twiggy' Rathbone
Robert Hardy Russell Spam
Geoffrey Palmer Harry Stringer (Series 1)
Geoffrey Hutchings Max Rutherford (Series 1)
Richard Kane Greg Kettle
John Gordon Sinclair (as John Gordon-Sinclair) Bill Tytla (Series 1)
Richard Wilson Richard 'Dicky' Lipton (Series 2)
David Barrass Jack Thrush (Series 2)
Caroline Milmoe Maggie Troon (Series 2)
Writing team
Andrew Marshall Writer
David Renwick Writer
Production team
David Askey Director (Series 1)
Nic Phillips Director (Series 2)
Humphrey Barclay Producer
Clayton Parker Editor (Series 1)
Dave Simpson Editor
Colin Monk Production Designer (Series 1)
Pip Gardner Production Designer (Series 2)
Alan Price Composer
Nigel Hess Composer (Series 1)
David Firman Composer (Series 2)

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides