John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme. Image shows from L to R: Margaret Cabourn-Smith, Lawry Lewin, John Finnemore, Carrie Quinlan, Simon Kane. Copyright: BBC
John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme

John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme

  • Radio sketch show
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2011 - 2024
  • 55 episodes (9 series)

Radio 4 sketch show written by and starring John Finnemore. Also features Simon Kane, Carrie Quinlan, Lawry Lewin and Margaret Cabourn-Smith.

  • Returns on Monday 27th May on Radio 4 at 2:15pm with 2024 Special

Episode menu

Series 9, Episode 1

For this audience-free series, each episode is made up of scenes from one person's life, played in reverse order. Episode one is all about Russ (Lawry Lewin), and takes place between a Christmas day Zoom in 2020, and a funeral he attended as a six-year-old in 1986.

Further details

The ninth series of John Finnemore's Souvenir Programme is very different to the previous eight. It's still written by John Finnemore, and performed by him, with a great supporting cast of Margaret Cabourn-Smith, Simon Kane, Lawry Lewin and Carrie Quinlan, and there are still sketches and songs. But, with no live studio audience this year, John has taken the opportunity to try something completely new.

Every episode in this series of Souvenir Programme is made up of scenes from one person's life, played in reverse order. There's no narrative to the episode, it's still a sketch show, not a sitcom... but the sketches in each episode all happened to one person, played by one member of the cast, over the course of their lifetime.

Broadcast details

Thursday 6th May 2021
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Thursday 13th May 2021 7:30am Radio 4 Extra
Thursday 13th May 2021 5:30pm Radio 4 Extra
Thursday 13th May 2021 10:00pm Radio 4 Extra
Friday 14th May 2021 5:30am Radio 4 Extra
Sunday 26th December 2021 11:00pm Radio 4

Cast & crew

John Finnemore Various
Simon Kane Ensemble Actor
Carrie Quinlan Ensemble Actor
Margaret Cabourn-Smith Ensemble Actor
Guest cast
Lawry Lewin Russ
Writing team
John Finnemore Writer
Production team
Ed Morrish Producer
Rich Evans Editor
Susannah Pearse Composer
Tim Sutton Composer

Share this page