Lara Ricote and Sikisa amongst 99 Club bursary recipients

Monday 13th June 2022, 2:02pm

99 Club Bursary Showcase 2022. Image shows from L to R: Juliet Meyers, Sian Davies, Sikisa, Lara Ricote, Lily Phillips, Ania Magliano. Copyright: Lucas John Photography

Comedy venue chain The 99 Club has allocated its 2022 bursaries for female and non-binary comedians.

Two awards of £500 were given to Lara Ricote and Sikisa, with three awards of £100 given to Ania Magliano, Lily Phillips and Sian Davies.

The awards were presented after the finalists performed at a showcase on Tuesday 7th June. The live show, hosted by Juliet Meyers, also featured a headline set from Sara Barron.

The club explains: "Tuesday's showcase is only one element of The 99 Club's Bursary for female & non-binary comedians. Not only does the programme award its finalists financial support for their debut at the world-famous Edinburgh Festival, but allows The 99 Club to establish working relationships with both our selected finalists and comedians who applied for the programme.

"Past bursary recipients include Sarah Keyworth, Helen Bauer, Sophie Duker, Catherine Bohart, Lauren Pattison and Janine Harouni. These previous bursary recipients have gone on from promising new acts to appearing on the likes of Live At The Apollo, Mock The Week, Taskmaster and Comedy Central's Roast Battle, to name a few."

The judging panel at the showcase comprised of Hannah Martin (PBJ Management), James Woroniecki (The 99 Club), Poppy Hillstead (Ebdon Management) and Steve Bennett (Chortle).

Share this page