Gilded Balloon 30th Anniversary Gala

Gilded Balloon 30th Anniversary Gala.

Show details

Stand-up show starring Alan Davies, Sean Hughes, Barry Cryer, Arthur Smith, Fred MacAulay, Johnny Vegas, Phil Nichol, Greg McHugh, Ed Byrne, Adam Hills and 10 more performed on the following days in August 2015...

03 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31 1 2  

Hosted by Fred MacAulay, this all-star evening boasts the best of UK and international talent for a one-off comedy spectacular featuring Alan Davies, Johnny Vegas, Stephen K Amos, The Boy With Tape On His Face, everybody's favourite grumpy old man Barry Cryer, Irish comedy legends Ed Byrne, Sean Hughes and Tommy Tiernan, British Comedy Award for Best Female TV Comic 2014 Aisling Bea and in a rare special appearance, Greg McHugh as Gary Tank Commander is back on duty for one night only. Line-ups updated at

Share this show


Press coverage

Full press release

For one night only, comedians from the past 30 years of the Gilded Balloon unite at the Edinburgh Playhouse to celebrate the iconic Fringe Venue and stars that have been made along the way. Hosted by Fred MacAulay and Adam Hills, the line up includes Johnny Vegas, Alan Davies, Stephen K Amos, Barry Cryer, Aisling Bea, Jason Byrne and The Boy with Tape on His Face.

Seán Cullen and Phil Nichol, of Corky and the Juice Pigs, also make a special appearance, alongside a very rare slot from Greg McHugh, re-enrolling as Gary: Tank Commander.

Other confirmed names include Arthur Smith, David O'Doherty, Jarred Christmas, Sean Hughes, Stephen K Amos, Tommy Tiernan, Jeff Green and Luisa Omielan.

Karen Koren, Artistic Director of Gilded Balloon, says: "I can't quite believe it's been 30 years and I am so happy that lots of performers who started out at the Gilded Balloon are joining us to celebrate. The Gala is in aid of the CdLS Foundation, a charity dear to my heart."


Person Role
Fred MacAulay Self
Alan Davies Self
Johnny Vegas Self
Stephen K Amos Self
Barry Cryer Self
Ed Byrne Self
Sean Hughes Self
Tommy Tiernan Self
Aisling Bea Self
Greg McHugh Self
Adam Hills Self
Jason Byrne Self
Sam Wills Self
Sean Cullen Self
Phil Nichol Self
Arthur Smith Self
David O'Doherty Self
Jarred Christmas Self
Jeff Green Self
Luisa Omielan Self