Clockwise. Image shows from L to R: Brian Stimpson (John Cleese), Laura Wisely (Sharon Maiden)


  • 1986 film

Manic comedy about the misadventures of an obsessively punctual comprehensive school headmaster, starring John Cleese. Stars John Cleese, Penelope Wilton, Alison Steadman, Stephen Moore, Joan Hickson and more.

Cast & crew credits

John Cleese Brian Stimpson
Penelope Wilton Pat
Alison Steadman Gwenda Stimpson
Stephen Moore Mr Jolly
Joan Hickson Mrs Trellis
Benjamin Whitrow Secretary of the Conference
Geoffrey Palmer Headmaster
Michael Aldridge Prior
Sharon Maiden Laura Wisely
Penny Leatherbarrow Woman Teacher
Howard Lloyd-Lewis Ted
Jonathan Bowater Clint
Mark Bunting Studious Boy
Robert Wilkinson Streaker
John Bardon Ticket Collector
Mark Burdis Glen Scully
Nadia Sawalha (as Nadia Carina) Mandy Kostakis
Dickie Arnold Man at Station
Angus Mackay First Class Passenger
Peter Needham Porter
Peter Lorenzelli Taxi Driver
Chip Sweeney Paul Stimpson
Constance Chapman Mrs Wheel
Ann Way Mrs Way
Ann-Marie Gwatkin Petrol Station Cashier
Mohammed Ashiq Manager
Pat Keen Mrs Wisely
Geoffrey Hutchings Mr Wisely
Geoffrey Greenhill Policeman with Mrs Wheel
Richard Ridings Policeman at Crash
Geoffrey Davion Policeman at Crash
Charles Bartholomew Man in Telephone Box
Sheila Keith Pat's Mother
Christian Regan Pat's Son
Alan Parnaby Policeman at Telephone Box
Tony Haygarth Ivan with the Tractor
Ronald Sowton Monk
Alan Granton Monk
Susan Field Woman in Lane
Leslie Schofield (as Leslie Scofield) Policeman Arresting Pat
Mike Glynn Policeman with Black Eye
Nicholas Le Prevost Headmaster
Peter Cellier Headmaster
David Conville Headmaster
Patrick Godfrey Headmaster
Rupert Massey Headmaster
John Rowe Headmaster
Philip Voss Headmaster
Jeffry Wickham Headmaster
Nick Stringer Det. Sgt. Rice
Graeme Green Detective Constable
Sidney Livingstone Porsche Driver
Michael Percival Man in Wood
Peter Jonfield Det. Insp. Laundryman
Brian Portsmouth Detective Constable
Writing team
Michael Frayn Writer
Production team
Christopher Morahan Director
Michael Codron Producer
Verity Lambert Executive Producer
Nat Cohen Executive Producer
Gregory Dark Associate Producer
Peter Boyle Editor
Roger Murray-Leach Production Designer
Priscilla John Casting Director
Judy Moorcroft Costume Designer
George Fenton Composer
Tony Hopkins 1st Assistant Director

Share this page