General Election 2015 Page 31

Quote: Gussie Fink Nottle @ 9th May 2015, 9:38 PM BST

Not sure about this article.
Seems a bit like someone gloating, to be honest.

Really? I think it overstates a few things, but is very, very close to the truth. There is certainly a good case to be made that there's near no future for the kind of policies Labour have been peddling of late.

Quote: Aaron @ 9th May 2015, 10:05 PM BST

Really? I think it overstates a few things, but is very, very close to the truth. There is certainly a good case to be made that there's near no future for the kind of policies Labour have been peddling of late.

I am new to Mr O'Neill.

Am I right in thinking that he describes himself as a left wing atheistic libertarian, that he wrote for the main journal of the Revolutionary Communist Party, that he opposes legislation on race relations and same sex marriage, and that he has been a member of the Australian Centre for Independent Studies which promotes free market economics? If so, it is hardly surprising he thinks that social democracy is dead. It appears to be the only strand of political thought he doesn't personally hold simultaneously.

Not a clue. I'm new to him too. Doesn't mean he's not right on this one.

Quote: Aaron @ 9th May 2015, 10:18 PM BST

Not a clue. I'm new to him too. Doesn't mean he's not right on this one.

http://www.theguardian.com/education/2003/dec/09/highereducation.uk2 :)

Quote: Aaron @ 9th May 2015, 10:05 PM BST

I'm not sure.
As said, I agree with political correctness playing a major part in that party (which by now has become an oppressive force all of its own).

I can also see how the Blairite middle class thing is a factor.
That said, the left will always be run by an educated elite. You don't want a pub landlord running a party.
That said, there needs to be an understanding of ordinary people that is founded on more than polls and focus groups.