The Worker. Charlie (Charlie Drake).

The Worker

ITV sitcom. 36 episodes (5 series), 1965 - 1978. Stars Charlie Drake, Percy Herbert and Henry McGee.

Series 1, Episode 1 - The Machinery Of Organisation

Mr Whittaker, at the Labour Exchange, is at his wits end with Charlie when he returns to sign on. His excuse this time is that he lost his last job when he ruptured himself clocking on!

Broadcast details

Saturday 27th February 1965
35 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Charlie Drake Charlie
Percy Herbert Mr Whittaker
Guest cast
Aubrey Morris Welfare officer
Dilys Laye Miss Powell
Joan Benham Miss Niddy
Lloyd Lamble Personnel manager
Mark Singleton Clerk
Michael Oxley First man
Michael Goldie Second man
Peter Hager Foreman
Gerald McAllister Shop steward
Salvin Stewart First worker
Walter Hall Second worker
Writing team
Charlie Drake Writer
Lew Schwarz Writer
Production team
Shaun O'Riordan Director
Alan Tarrant Producer
Brian Bartholomew Production Designer