The State Of It. Robert Florence. Copyright: The Comedy Unit
The State Of It

The State Of It

  • TV sketch show
  • BBC Scotland / BBC Two Scotland
  • 2018 - 2020
  • 8 episodes (1 series)

Topical comedy show hosted by Robert Florence. Also features Joe Hullait, Nathan Byrne, Susan Riddell, Rachel Jackson, Bigg Taj and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 2 - Environment

The State Of It. Image shows from L to R: Andrew Wason, Mark Black, Paul Black. Copyright: The Comedy Unit
The environment falls under The State Of It microscope as Robert Florence and the comic team rip into Scotland and the world at large.

Further details

Hannah MacMillan asks her Focus Group, could you live without meat? Outspoken gran, Margaret, has her own views while hair and nail technician Sheena makes a mouth-watering confession about a cartoon favourite.

Link and Lorne are in Dumfries to do climate change in their own inimitable style while Robert and the team perform Our Planets, a song penned to inspire the next generation. Or scare them, you decide.

Susan Riddell showcases a revolutionary new product; comedian Stuart McPherson considers employment and the environment; and Pity Party's Mark and Paul Black investigate sustainable Scottish scran with a visit to Big Iain's food van.

Broadcast details

Friday 29th November 2019
BBC Scotland
30 minutes


Show past repeats

Date Time Channel
Wednesday 22nd January 2020 10:50pm BBC Scotland

Cast & crew

Robert Florence Host / Presenter
Joe Hullait Ensemble Actor
Nathan Byrne Ensemble Actor
Susan Riddell Ensemble Actor
Rachel Jackson Ensemble Actor
Bigg Taj Ensemble Actor
Mark Black Ensemble Actor
Paul Black Ensemble Actor
Ewan Denny Ensemble Actor
Hannah Macmillan Ensemble Actor
Guest cast
Stuart McPherson Ensemble Actor
Matt Winning Ensemble Actor
Andrew Wason Ensemble Actor
Writing team
Robert Florence Writer
Mark Black Writer
Paul Black Writer
Ewan Denny Writer
Hannah Macmillan Writer
Stuart McPherson Writer
Matt Winning Writer
Andrew Wason Writer
Susan Riddell Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
Iain Davidson Director
Joe Hullait Series Producer
Nathan Byrne Producer
Gavin Smith Executive Producer
Rab Christie Executive Producer
Suzi Cassidy Line Producer
Ewan Denny Editor
Lee McKellar Editor
Natalie Astridge Production Designer
Craig McKirdy Director of Photography
Denise Coombes Costume Designer
Steven Mochrie Director of Photography
Nicole Tulloch Make-up Designer
Helen Cannon Make-up Designer
Carol-Anne Henderson 1st Assistant Director
Kath Wishart 1st Assistant Director

Share this page