The Peter Principle. Peter Duffley (Jim Broadbent). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

The Peter Principle

BBC One sitcom set in a bank. 13 episodes (pilot + 2 series), 1995 - 2000. Stars Jim Broadbent, Claire Skinner, David Schneider, Daniel Flynn and others.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 2nd June 1997

Peter's nervous of how to handle a client, and his mortgage application, after discovering that he is gay. Meanwhile, a misplaced Valentine's card sends mixed messages across the office.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 9th June 1997

Peter's attempt to improve performance and profits by taking on a business account is thwarted when he grossly misunderestimates the demands of the operation in contast to the size of his branch.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 16th June 1997

Peter's busy avoiding a health check and having boozy lunches to attract new business; meanwhile, a cleaner is set to retire after 30 years of service to the bank.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Monday 23rd June 1997


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 30th June 1997


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 7th July 1997

Peter and Susan are both after the same job of manager at the Reading branch. But things go awry for Peter as he is trapped in the bank's lobby over a Bank Holiday weekend.