Takin' Over The Asylum. Eddie (Ken Stott). Copyright: BBC.

Takin' Over The Asylum

BBC One comedy drama set in a psychiatric hospital. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1994. Stars Ken Stott, Katy Murphy, David Tennant, Ruth McCabe and others.

Series 1

1. Hey Jude

First broadcast: Tuesday 27th September 1994

Sacked from his slot on Hospital Radio Glasgow and bored of his day job as a double glazing salesman, he agrees to resurrect the radio station at St Jude's Mental Hospital. Gradually he becomes involved in the lives of the patients and realises that not all the 'lunatics' are on the inside.


2. Fly Like An Eagle

First broadcast: Tuesday 4th October 1994

The hospital radio station is in full swing, Eddie is in danger of losing his job, and hypomaniac Campbell, about to be discharged, plans to become a DJ.


3. You Always Hurt The One You Love

First broadcast: Tuesday 11th October 1994

Eddie and the gang pull out all the stops to save the radio station by staging a coup at the open day.


4. Fool On The Hill

First broadcast: Tuesday 18th October 1994

The possibility of a discharge means Fergus must find a job. The aftermath of the open day is felt by Campbell, Eddie, Francine and the hospital radio.


5. Rainy Night In Georgia

First broadcast: Tuesday 25th October 1994

Buoyed by his accidental sales triumph at Twinview Windows, and with professional radio beckoning, Eddie's relationship with Francine starts to develop.


6. Let It Be

First broadcast: Tuesday 1st November 1994

Jim is appalled by Rosalie's living conditions. Campbell's star is rising as the odds appear to be stacked against Eddie.