Pinwright's Progress. Mr J. Pinwright (James Hayter). Copyright: BBC
Pinwright's Progress

Pinwright's Progress

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1946 - 1947
  • 10 episodes (1 series)

The daily happenings at Macgillygally's Stores, owned by Mr J. Pinwright. Stars James Hayter, Clarence Wright, Sara Gregory, Daphne Maddox, Doris Palmer and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 1

J. Pinwright is the proprietor of the smallest multiple store in the world, and viewers will have a fortnightly chance to see his progress from disaster to disaster. He has a pretty daughter and a hated rival, and his difficulties are increased by his staff's efforts to be helpful.


This episode no longer exists in the archives. It is missing, believed wiped.

Broadcast details

Friday 29th November 1946
30 minutes

Cast & crew

James Hayter Mr J. Pinwright
Clarence Wright Aubrey
Daphne Maddox Miss Peabody
Doris Palmer Miss Sigsbee
Charles Irwin Salesman
Sam Hinton Various
Guest cast
Jill Christie Mr Pinwright's Daughter
Writing team
Rodney Hobson Writer
Ted Kavanagh Script Editor
Production team
John Glyn-Jones Director
John Glyn-Jones Producer
Peter Phillips Composer
Anthony Spurgin Composer

Share this page