Pinwright's Progress. Mr J. Pinwright (James Hayter). Copyright: BBC
Pinwright's Progress

Pinwright's Progress

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1946 - 1947
  • 10 episodes (1 series)

The daily happenings at Macgillygally's Stores, owned by Mr J. Pinwright. Stars James Hayter, Clarence Wright, Sara Gregory, Daphne Maddox, Doris Palmer and more.

Press clippings

Pinwright's Progress - The world's first sitcom

A scheming shopkeeper with delusions of grandeur laid the foundations for many modern comic characters, from David Brent to Del Boy.

Tom Nicholson, The Telegraph, 25th November 2021

Share this page