Oh Happy Band!. Image shows left to right: Mr Giles (Tony Sympson), Mr Sowerby (Billy Burden), Mr Herbert (Jonathan Cecil), Harry Bennington (Harry Worth), Mr Pilgrim (Tom Mennard), Mr Braithwaite (John Horsley). Credit: BBC
Oh Happy Band!

Oh Happy Band!

  • TV sitcom
  • BBC One
  • 1980
  • 6 episodes (1 series)

Croft & Lloyd sitcom starring Harry Worth as the leader of a small town's brass band, who find themselves at the centre of an anti-airport campaign. Also features Jonathan Cecil, Billy Burden, Tom Mennard, Tony Sympson, Jan Holden and more.

Episode menu

Series 1, Episode 6 - Diplomatic Privilege

With the continued threat of the airport upon them, the band committee's latest idea is to pretend an Arab nation has purchased Mr Braithwaite's house and estate for diplomatic use. The ministry may need some convincing...

Broadcast details

Wednesday 8th October 1980
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Harry Worth Harry Bennington
Jonathan Cecil Mr Herbert
Billy Burden Mr Sowerby
Tom Mennard Mr Pilgrim
Tony Sympson Mr Giles
Jan Holden Mrs Draper
Harold Bennett Vicar
Moira Foot Glenda
Peggy Ann Clifford (as Peggyann Clifford) Mrs Tickford
Margaret Clifton Miss Mayhew
John Horsley Mr Braithwaite
Guest cast
Arnold Peters Mr. Rathbone
Michael Halphie Ben Yusef Fahid
Writing team
Jeremy Lloyd Writer
David Croft Writer
Production team
David Croft Director
John Kilby Director
David Croft Producer
Garry Freeman Production Designer
George Prior Musical Director

Share this page