End Of Part One. Copyright: London Weekend Television
End Of Part One

End Of Part One

  • TV sketch show
  • ITV
  • 1979 - 1980
  • 14 episodes (2 series)

Sketch show written by David Renwick and Andrew Marshall.

End Of Part One - The Complete Series

Bringing the Pythonesque humour of cult Radio 4 series The Burkiss Way to television, this surreal, satirical soap opera/sketch show was the first TV series from multi-award-winning screenwriters Andrew Marshall and David Renwick - one of the most successful writing teams of the last 30 years whose combined credits include Whoops Apocalypse, Jonathan Creek, One Foot In The Grave and Hot Metal, among many others.

Series 1 centres on Vera and Norman Straightman, a couple whose efforts to live a quiet life are constantly shattered by the unwelcome intrusions of guests from the world of television, while Series 2's combination of short, sharp sketches and inspired, mildly deranged slapstick prefigured Not The Nine O'Clock News, to which the writers would contribute; both afford ample opportunity to parody the style and content of late '70s television (continuity announcements and adverts included).

This set presents both series, complete and uncut, for the very first time.

First released: Monday 5th November 2012

Not in the UK?

Fear not! Many items can still be ordered. Amazon in the UK delivers to many international territories, whilst their Australia, USA and Canada stores also supply many equivalent or imported items.

If you are in the North America, look out for US/Canadian flag icons on popular product listings for direct links.

If you order from a UK store, please note that the UK is in Region 2 and B, respectively, for DVDs and Blu-rays - check your player's compatibility, or look for multi-region products if you are located in another region.

If you are in Australia or New Zealand (DVD Region 4), note that almost all DVDs distributed in the UK by the BBC and 2entertain are encoded for both Region 2 and Region 4. The UK and Australasia are in the same Blu-ray region (B).

Share this page