Decline And Fall. Paul Pennyfeather (Jack Whitehall). Copyright: Tiger Aspect Productions.

Decline And Fall

BBC One comedy drama adaptation of Evelyn Waugh's 1928 novel. 3 episodes (1 series) in 2017. Stars Jack Whitehall, Eva Longoria, David Suchet, Douglas Hodge and others.

Series 1

Decline And Fall. Image shows from L to R: Captain Grimes (Douglas Hodge), Paul Pennyfeather (Jack Whitehall), Predergast (Vincent Franklin).

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Friday 31st March 2017

Expelled from Oxford, Paul Pennyfeather takes a position as a teacher at a substandard boarding school in rural Wales.

In-depth Guide

Decline And Fall. Image shows from L to R: Paul Pennyfeather (Jack Whitehall), Margot Beste-Chetwynde (Eva Longoria).

2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Friday 7th April 2017

Paul Pennyfeather finds himself tutoring the son of Margot Beste-Chetwynde over the school summer holidays. As he tries to act natural among the higher echelons of 1920s society crowding Margot's elegant home, Paul wonders whether the feelings he fosters for the wealthy and alluring widow are returned.


Decline And Fall. Image shows from L to R: Harold (Jack Brady), Paul Pennyfeather (Jack Whitehall).

3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Friday 14th April 2017

Valiantly taking the fall for the murky deeds of his fiancee Margot, Paul Pennyfeather finds himself in deep trouble with the law. Will Paul be able to escape imprisonment, and will Margot wait for him if he doesn't?