The Castle. Image shows from L to R: Sir William De Warenne (Neil Dudgeon), Lady Anne Woodstock (Martha Howe-Douglas), Lady Charlotte (Ingrid Oliver), Sir John Woodstock (James Fleet). Copyright: Pozzitive Productions.

The Castle

BBC Radio 4 sitcom. 24 episodes (4 series), 2007 - 2012. Stars James Fleet, Neil Dudgeon, Susan Earl, Jonathan Kydd, Ingrid Oliver, Steven Kynman, Toby Ross-Bryant and others.

Series 2, Episode 2 - Nice To Gavotte You, To Gavotte You Nice

The arrival of a new handyman, a mysterious Frenchwoman and a celebrity dance competition puts everyone in a whirl.

Broadcast details

Friday 9th January 2009
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
James Fleet Sir John Woodstock
Neil Dudgeon Sir William De Warenne
Jonathan Kydd Cardinal Duncan
Ingrid Oliver Lady Charlotte
Steven Kynman Master Henry Woodstock
Jonathan Kydd Thomas
Montserrat Lombard Lady Anne Woodstock
Lewis Macleod Merlin
Guest cast
Katy Brand Madame Totty
Writing team
Kim Fuller Writer
Paul Alexander Writer (Additional Material)
Production team
David Tyler Producer
Guy Jackson Composer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • Broadcast details of 4 further repeats of this episode

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?