Mark Steel's In Town. Mark Steel. Copyright: BBC
Mark Steel's In Town

Mark Steel's In Town

  • Radio stand-up
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2009 - 2021
  • 61 episodes (11 series)

Mark Steel visits a town in Britain and investigates its society & history before performing a bespoke stand-up show for locals.

  • Series 11 recording
  • Series 11, Episode 1 repeated Wednesday 8th December at 7:30am on Radio 4 Extra

Episode menu

Series 11, Episode 1 - Blyth

The comedian travels to the former coal town of Blyth in Northumberland, meeting the locals and learning of its history, including its industrial legacy and its role in the first and second world wars. He also presents his findings to a local audience in the form of a stand-up show at the Phoenix Theatre.

Broadcast details

Wednesday 1st December 2021
BBC Radio 4
30 minutes


  1. Wednesday 8th December 2021 at 7:30am on Radio 4 Extra
  2. Wednesday 8th December 2021 at 5:30pm on Radio 4 Extra
  3. Wednesday 8th December 2021 at 10:00pm on Radio 4 Extra
  4. Thursday 9th December 2021 at 5:30am on Radio 4 Extra

Share this page