Sally Phillips
Bridget Jones's Diary

Bridget Jones's Diary

  • Radio comedy
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2022
  • 10 episodes (1 series)

Reading of Helen Fielding's novel about a single thirty-something woman living in London. Also features Sally Phillips.

  1. 5th February: Lily Allen comments on Bridget Jones musical (What's On Stage)

Key details

BBC Radio 4
10 (1 series)
Sally Phillips
Helen Fielding and Sara Davies
Mair Bosworth and Mary Ward-Lowery

"Ugh. First day of New Year has been day of horror. Cannot quite believe I am once again starting the year in a single bed in my parents' house."

Bridget Jones begins the new year full of resolutions. She pledges in her diary to drink less, smoke less, lose weight, find a new job, stay away from unsuitable men and learn to programme the VCR. But her resolve is tested by the horrors of attending dinner parties with the "smug marrieds", the confusing behaviour of her charming rogue of a boss Daniel Cleaver, and her increasingly embarrassing encounters with human rights lawyer Mark Darcy.

Bridget Jones's Diary started life as a weekly column in the pages of The Independent in 1995, when Fielding worked on the news desk. Helen's column chronicled the life and antics of fictional Bridget Jones as a thirty-something single woman in London trying to make sense of life and love. It was first published as a novel in 1996 and has gone on to sell more than 15 million copies worldwide and has been adapted into a series of films.

Additional details

Also known as
  • Book At Bedtime: Bridget Jones's Diary

Website links

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Monday 2nd May 2022 at 10:45pm on BBC Radio 4

Share this page