BBC New Comedy Award. Copyright: BBC.

BBC New Comedy Award

BBC Radio 4 Extra and BBC Radio 2 and BBC Radio 4 stand-up awards. 75 episodes (9 series), 2011 - 2019. Stars Mark Watson and Patrick Kielty.

Video Clips

2012 - London Semi-Final

The first of the semi-finals took place on October 23rd at the Leicester Square Theatre in London and was recorded exclusively for BBC Radio 2. Here's some video highlights.

From 2012, Episode 1. Featuring: Patrick Kielty, Matt Rees, Harriet Kemsley, Kwame Asante, Stuart Hossack, Matthew Winning, Lucy Beaumont, Mark Watson.

2012 - London Heat

Footage from the 2nd October heat at London's 100 Club. Dan Antopolski announced runners-up Harriet Kemsley and Gerry Howell, with Kwame Asante named the winner.

From 2012. Featuring: Dan Antopolski, Jack Barry, Josh Widdicombe, Rob Carter, Gerry Howell, Harriet Kemsley, Joe Davies, Nick Dent, Andy Field, Kwame Asante, Dean Sekhon, Claire Parker.

2012 - Brighton Heat

Footage from Komedia Brighton, and the 25th September heat. Zoe Lyons announces the judges' picks: runners-up: Jonny Lennard and David Elms, with Lucy Beaumont the winner.

From 2012. Featuring: Zoe Lyons, William Peck, Adam Smith, Angela Barnes, Sam Savage, David Elms, Nabil Abdulrashid, Alex Petrovic, Graham Whistler, Lucy Beaumont, Laurie Rowan, Jonny Lennard.

2012 - Cardiff Heat

Elis James hosts the Cardiff heat of the BBC New Comedy Award 2012, held at The Glee Club on 18th September 2012. With Lloyd Langford as the guest judge. Stu Richards and Tommy Rowson were the runners up, with Matt Rees judged as the winner of this heat.

From 2012. Featuring: Lloyd Langford, Rhys James, Elis James, Tommy Rowson, Stu Richards, Kate Lucas, Matt Rees, Amy Howerska, Joz Norris, Robin Morgan, Richard Middleton, Manraj Bahra.

2012 - Birmingham Heat

Joe Lycett welcomed ten more competiting comedians to The Glee Club in Birmingham on Tuesday 11th September. The runners-up in this heat were Funmbi Omotayo and Sunil Patel, with Stuart Hossack named the winner.

From 2012. Featuring: Rob Rouse, Kieran Boyd, Matt Richardson, Joe Lycett, Andrea Hubert, Stuart Hossack, Funmbi Omotayo, James Loveridge, Nick Dixon, Sunil Patel, Peter Dillon-Trenchard, Ryan Cull.

2012 - Manchester Heat

Footage from the 4th September gig at the Comedy Store in Manchester. The runners-up were Steve Bugeja and Hayley Elis and the winner was Liam Pickford.

From 2012. Featuring: Hayley Ellis, Sarah Millican, Richard Stainbank, Mike Shephard, Chris Ramsey, Steve Bugeja, Adam Hess, James Bran, Will Setchell, Danny Sutcliffe, Liam Pickford, Alexander Smith.