2010 Edinburgh Fringe

Daniel Kitson wins Fringe First Award

It's Always Right Now, Until It's Later. Daniel Kitson

Perrier-winning comic Daniel Kitson today won a Fringe First Award for his Edinburgh show - his fifth such award in his career.

Kitson's latest show, It's Always Right Now, Until It's Later, is about the fictional lives of two people, one told from their birth to their death, the other from their death to their birth.

Fringe First Awards, organised by The Scotsman newspaper, are given to stage shows which have premiered at the famous arts festival (nominees can have had no more than six performances before the Fringe begins).

Kitson first won the award in 2005 with his show Stories for the Wobbly Hearted. He has since won it again in 2006 with C-90, in 2008 with 66a Church Road and in 2009 with The Interminable Suicide of Gregory Church.

Kitson's first major award was in 2002 when he won the Perrier (now the Foster's) Comedy Award, having been nominated the previous year.

Published: Friday 20th August 2010

Share this page