Importance of a plot Page 3

The problem with the phrase "take your characters on a journey" is that it's been co-opted by the plebs. That nodding mong Davina used to tell each and every retard as they emerged from the House "Wow you've really been on an emotional journey". Even if they'd been evicted on day one and done nothing but eat biscuits.

Quote: Griff @ October 9 2008, 12:08 PM BST

The problem with the phrase "take your characters on a journey" is that it's been co-opted by the plebs. That nodding mong Davina used to tell each and every retard as they emerged from the House "Wow you've really been on an emotional journey". Even if they'd been evicted on day one and done nothing but eat biscuits.

Don't knock the plebs. Susan Nickson's made a lot of money catering for them.

I used to have trouble with 'Character driven plots, not plot driven characters' - once I got the hang of this, I was a better writer.

Quote: Marc P @ October 9 2008, 11:12 AM BST

I wrote a book like that once, a serial killer type story, I figured if I didn't know what was going on the reader wouldn't either.

:)

I'm a big fan of serial killer books. Have you come up with a new angle?

Quote: chipolata @ October 9 2008, 12:57 PM BST

I'm a big fan of serial killer books. Have you come up with a new angle?

I made the killer mad. That's why the murders take place.

Whistling nnocently

Quote: Marc P @ October 9 2008, 1:01 PM BST

I made the killer mad. That's why the murders take place.

Whistling nnocently

Mad as in a split personality? My God, that would be brilliant.

Quote: David Bussell @ October 9 2008, 1:05 PM BST

Mad as in a split personality? My God, that would be brilliant.

No, just very, very angry!

:D

Quote: Marc P @ October 9 2008, 1:17 PM BST

No, just very, very angry!

:D

Like that old Steve Wright character, Mr Angry? I look forward to reading it. Whistling nnocently

Quote: Dolly Dagger @ October 8 2008, 4:09 PM BST