Introduction and thoughts...

Hello everybody, I don't know if making a thread like this, is the done-thing where newbies are concerned, but oh well...here goes..

After irregularly lurking around this forum for a couple of months, I finally decide to sign up and post something.

I'm 26 years old and have secretly harbored dreams of being a sitcom writer for a couple of years now.

I have no real writing experience. In fact, for the past 4 years I have been studying Graphic Design. However during that time, I have done various pieces of "comedy writing" (short stories, observations, cartoons..etc) on websites and blogs, and they have always seemed to get a lot of attention and laughs.

I've been filling up a notebook with ideas and things for my sitcom. I have the basic premise figured out..characters..etc.

But right now I'm feeling quite disheartened. I keep reading on the forum about how hard and almost near impossible it is to break into the industry. I don't know, I mean, surely if your work is good enough, then it will get discovered, no? I'm confident in my ability (aren't we all!), but after reading some things in this forum, I'm thinking to myself: "Should I even bother?"

I don't know what to do really. Just go for it? Take some courses? Wait a few years til I'm older?

ehh...

sorry everyone, just realised there is an "introudtion" section of this forum. Please forgive me, I've been spending all my time in the WRITERS DISCUSSION section and not explored the rest of the forum.

:$

It shall be moved, by someone else, not me though :D

Anyway, welcome Keegs.

Don't give up if you enjoy it or maybe look at other areas in comedy that can offer the same satisfaction.

Wilkommen and Hello.

Yeah - welcome.

We probably all think the same at times.

But if you don't try you'll never know. Yours might just be the one.

Why not post some examples that we can steal - no sorry - comment on.

Hi Keegs welcome to the BSG Wave

Consider you're thread moved.

Adam