The Singing Solicitor

I'm suffering a mid life crisis and don't know what to do when I grow up, I'm 43.

Can't afford a flashy car, too bald and grey to have an affair, so I thought I would turn my hand to comedy writing.

I work as a solicitor but find it a chore so looking for something else to do. I thought about doing a degree in sociology or psychology because I find people really interesting and am good at observing people and working them out.

However I love making people laugh, I often tell jokes, especially to my suffering wife and children. I've played numerous April Fools jokes on m family colleagues and friends.

My friends say I should go on stage but I lack confidence for that. I had a dream a few weeks ago where I was a comedy writer and that made me think, I'm full of ideas (I had the idea of car share a few years ago) I am funny, so heck why not go for it.

So I am looking around to find out how I can get started. Any help would be much appreciated.

Why the Singing Solicitor? I love singing and often take part in my local pub's Karaoke, where they have called me the Singing Solicitor. The only thing is I don't get paid for doing it.

I hear you. Not sure about the practical jokes though, or the Karaoke....
What kind of comedy do you like?

Thanks from the practical jokes its not like balancing a bucket of water over a door to fall on top of the next person walking through it, its more like April Fools jokes. For example, I put up a few planning notices on an important derelict building in my home town (which is by an estuary) which stated planning permission was sought to change the building to a nudest beach. There would be a viewing platform, first aid room for sun burns etc. Among other jokes in the document I said the application could be found in the local library in the adult section etc. It went down well with my friends who thought it was hilarious not sure about the old fogies.