DIY

Well, I've been asked to create a DIY thread, so here it is!

I'm no expert, but have been keen on DIY for nearly 50 years, having worked alongside plumbers, carpenters, electricians etc. etc., where you can glean so much useful and practical tips, I have found the experience invaluable. I highly recommend it if you can and usually they are happy to have a free labourer and your bill won't be so big!!

I have installed central heating from scratch in a 5 bed house, completely rewired another one to a very high standard (above the legal requirement) alongside which I installed a TV system and telephone circuit throughout the same house.

I don't know everything! And am hoping, and feel sure that there must be many other keen DIYers on this forum who have a valuable contribution to make.
The only thing I never quite mastered was plastering..................

Oh and importantly - I never touch anything to do with gas.

So, pulling these from the Status Report thread, here's a starter:-

Quote: A Horseradish @ 11th September 2014, 6:31 PM BST

Thank you for the tips. I thought washing up liquid had oil in it but I suppose the water dilutes it. Have used lemon jif in earlier times and am wondering about the long term effects. Guess that "sizing" means covering the whole of the wall with glue like slop. All of these sentences are questions, sort of, except for the first.

No. I do not have a light fitting in place but I used to have one there. It's just a bit of bare wire and I don't understand why it isn't working. I may have been heavy in the past with the use of pliers. Words like "twin" and "trip" and phrases like "a bulk standard wire block" scare the hell out of me although I did replace a timer switch in an airing cupboard once, much to my amazement. Would this thing be easier or more difficult? Ta.