The Robinsons. Image shows from L to R: George Robinson (Hugh Bonneville), Maggie Robinson (Amanda Root), Pam Robinson (Anna Massey), Hector Robinson (Richard Johnson), Vicky Robinson (Abigail Cruttenden), Ed Robinson (Martin Freeman).

The Robinsons

BBC One sitcom starring Martin Freeman. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2005. Stars Martin Freeman, Hugh Bonneville, Abigail Cruttenden, Anna Massey and others.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 5th May 2005

Ed, who lives with his aunt and does a job he hates; George, a time management consultant obsessed with organisation; and Vicky, a perfectionist interior designer. The family face a clown's suicide.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 12th May 2005

The bizarre death of popular Uncle Edmund - explorer, adventurer, philanthropist and all-round good bloke - has Ed and George struggling to come to terms with their own morality.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 19th May 2005

Rugby, gynaecology and vomit are among the topics under discussion when the Robinsons meet in George's garden.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 26th May 2005

Ed's new girlfriend displays an unnerving ability to get on with his family, but then stuns them with her actions.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 2nd June 2005

Ed's feelings of failure lead him to a sex therapist. Meanwhile Vicky is desperate to have a child and so approaches a gay work colleague.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 9th June 2005

While the family attempt to find Ed a girlfriend in the unlikely surroundings of the local Indian restaurant, George decides to challenge his father on why he seems to be such a disappointment.