That Beryl Marston...!. Image shows from L to R: Georgie Bodley (Julia McKenzie), Gerry Bodley (Gareth Hunt). Copyright: Southern Television.

That Beryl Marston...!

ITV sitcom about a couple after an extra-marrital affair. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1981. Stars Julia McKenzie, Gareth Hunt, Jonathon Morris, Jayne Stevens and Peter John.

Series 1

1. Say It With Flowers

First broadcast: Friday 24th July 1981

On the day her divorce is finalised, Georgie Bodley's freshly-ex-husband turns up at her home in hope of wooing her back, having left his mistress, Beryl Marston. At the same time, Georgie has arranged a date with another man.


2. Pax

First broadcast: Friday 31st July 1981

Georgie and Gerry go out for a meal, but the night isn't what either of them had hoped for. Much to Georgie's later relief!


3. Rondo

First broadcast: Friday 7th August 1981

Phil explains how his father's affair with that Beryl Marston came to light 18 months previously, whilst Georgie's best friend and business partner is left by his gay partner for a model.


4. Noctume

First broadcast: Friday 14th August 1981

Gerry gets caught in a thunderstorm on his way to see his family, and ends up feverish and having to stay the night. Harvey insists on staying to keep an eye on him, but it is Georgie who gets into Gerry's bed! Meanwhile, Phil's hopeful that they will have had a "romantic reconciliation".


5. Live & Let Live

First broadcast: Friday 21st August 1981

Gerry and Georgie fail to invite the other for dinner on Friday evening, as each has prior engagements related to their respective careers. But upon their arrivals, neither of the visiting businessmen are as expected!


6. Noel - Oh 'ell

First broadcast: Friday 28th August 1981

It's Christmas in the Bodley household and all of Georgie's friends, as well as her aunt and uncle, have come for dinner. Could the Yuletide spirit be the chance of reconcilliation that Phil has been hoping for?