Please Sir!. Bernard Hedges (John Alderton). Copyright: London Weekend Television.

Please Sir!

ITV sitcom about a school. 55 episodes (4 series), 1968 - 1972. Stars John Alderton, Deryck Guyler, Noel Howlett, Joan Sanderson and others.

Cast & Crew

Main cast
John Alderton Bernard Hedges (Series 1-3)
Deryck Guyler Norman Potter
Noel Howlett Mr Morris Cromwell
Joan Sanderson Doris Ewell
Richard Davies Mr Price
Erik Chitty Mr Smith
Jill Kerman Penny Wheeler/Hedges (Series 3)
Richard Warwick David Ffitchett-Brown (Series 4)
Vivienne Martin Miss Petting (Series 4)
Malcolm McFee Peter Craven (Series 1-3)
Peter Cleall Eric Duffy (Series 1-3)
Liz Gebhardt Maureen Bullock (Series 1-3)
Penny Spencer Sharon Eversleigh (Series 1-3)
David Barry Frankie Abbott (Series 1-3)
Peter Denyer Dennis Dunstable (Series 1-3)
Charles Bolton Gobber (Series 4)
Barry McCarthy Terry Stringer (Series 4)
Billy Hamon Des (Series 4)
Drina Pavlovic Celia (Series 4)
Rosemary Faith Daisy (Series 4)
Bernard Holley Mr. Hurst (Series 4)
Writing team
John Esmonde Writer
Bob Larbey Writer
Geoff Rowley Writer (Series 4)
Andy Baker Writer (Series 4)
Tony Bilbow Writer (Series 4)
Production team
Mark Stuart Director (Series 1-3)
Philip Casson Director (Series 4)
Howard Ross Director (Series 4)
Mark Stuart Producer (Series 1-3)
Philip Casson Producer (Series 4)
Mark Stuart Executive Producer (Series 4)
John Esmonde Creator
Bob Larbey Creator

For guest cast and crew see our episode guides


Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers.

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see production designer & composer credits.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?