Grass. Billy Bleach (Simon Day). Copyright: BBC.


BBC Three sitcom about a man in witness protection. 8 episodes (1 series) in 2003. Stars Simon Day, Philip Jackson, Robert Wilfort, Tristan Gemmill and others.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 8th September 2003

Billy joins the witness protection scheme and is sent to a ramshackle cottage deep in the heart of rural England.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Monday 15th September 2003

Billy disappears after sneaking away from PC Harriet and discovers the local pub. Meanwhile two Met officers turn up and get quite friendly with each other.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Monday 22nd September 2003

Billy meets the local organic farmers and also receives distressing news about his brother, Darren.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Monday 29th September 2003

Billy receives his new identity and picnics with Heartbeat and Jemima. Meanwhile Darren is transferred to an open prison, or is he?


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Monday 6th October 2003

Billy decides to hold the Poetry Olympics down the pub. Darren meets a poacher in the middle of the Norfolk countryside, and Eric and Sunshine's car breaks down.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 13th October 2003

As Little Mockwell stages its first Poetry Olympics, can Billy keep his nerve?


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Monday 20th October 2003

Billy finally asks Jemima round for a cosy dinner at the cottage but their romantic evening does not go as planned. Meanwhile, Harriet goes down the pub and gets chatting to a stranger and relations between DCI Maddox and DI Veal are strained.


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Monday 27th October 2003

Finally, Maddox and Veal receive instructions about Billy's relocation after the trail - it's not going to be somewhere hot. Leaving Maddox and Veal to confront their own future together Harriet is forced to take Billy on a walk to tell him the truth about his relocation.