BBC Two sitcom about a French village. 9 episodes (1 series) in 1972. Stars Cyril Cusack, Roy Dotrice, Wendy Hiller, Kenneth Griffith and others.

Series 1, Episode 7 - The Inexorable Power Of The Third Republic

Ascar de St Choul is dunked in soapy water.

Broadcast details

Friday 31st March 1972
30 minutes

Cast & crew

Regular cast
Micheline Presle The Baroness Courtebiche
Peter Ustinov Narrator
Guest cast
Hugh Griffith Alexandre Bourdillat
Raymond Gerome Archbishop Of Lyon
Dennis Price Alexis Luvelat
Nigel Green Captain Tardivaux
Charles Lloyd Pack Liochet
Maggy Maxwell Madame Liochet
Tony Sutton Madame Liochet's Gigolo
Hamilton Dyce Colonel Touffe
Tom Kempinski Lieutenant
Michael Gover General D'Aridel
Peter Copley General De Laflanel
Michael Darbyshire Chief Secretary
John Cazabon Private Secretary
John Bryans 1st Secretary
Robert Sansom 2nd Secretary
Vernon Dobtcheff 3rd Secretary
James McManus 4th Secretary
Ralph Watson 5th Secretary
John Glyn-Jones Couzinet
Frederick Peisley Petitbois
Graham Tonbridge Archbishop's Butler
Writing team
Gabriel Chevalier Writer
Ray Galton Writer (Adapted By)
Alan Simpson Writer (Adapted By)
Production team
Michael Mills Producer

Supporters and subscribers get more

Additional content and tools are available across the site for Supporters and BCG Pro subscribers. On this page you can:

  • BCG Pro business users can see additional crew credits  
    If you join BCG Pro business, you can see editor, production designer & composer credits for this episode.

Donate (for fans) BCG Pro

Already a donor or Pro user?