Behind The Sofa. Image shows from L to R: Toby Hadoke, Gary Slaymaker, Mitch Benn, Alex Geairns. Copyright: Cult TV Productions.

Behind The Sofa

Controversial TV chat show. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2012. Stars Alex Geairns, Mitch Benn, Toby Hadoke and Gary Slaymaker.

Behind The Sofa

DVD review show with comic guests, found on Sky channel 200. Hosted by Alex Geairns, with Mitch Benn, Toby Hadoke and Gary Slaymaker

Chat Show
Controversial TV
6   (1 series)
Alex Geairns, Mitch Benn, Toby Hadoke and Gary Slaymaker
Kenton Torrey and Allen Peterson
Alex Geairns

Behind The Sofa is a "comedy panel review show". Pitching comic reviewers against each other, the latest DVD and Blu-ray blockbusters do battle with classic archive titles for the right to be hailed as the 'Release of the Week'.

In the first series, comprising of six weekly one-hour shows, those looking behind the sofa and jousting in support of their chosen releases are comedians Mitch Benn (The Now Show), Toby Hadoke (Moths Ate My Doctor Who Scarf) and Gary Slaymaker (BBC Radio Cymru's Bwletin). The show is hosted by Alex Geairns, aka alex:g.

Geairns says: "There are no rules to follow as to how the four of us decide which is the most deserving title, from those we discuss in any particular week. This is where a lot of the fun comes from. We were all amazed at how much humour, trivia and rivalry came over in the first recording. Our audience will feel they are joining us on our sofa, rather than being behind it!"

Further details on the series can be found at the official website

Production Details

Production company
Laugh track

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Sunday 15th January 2012 on Controversial TV at 8pm
Last new broadcast
Sunday 19th February 2012 on Controversial TV at 8pm
Length of episodes
1 hour
Last repeat
Saturday 25th February 2012 at 9:00pm

Website links