The Yellowplush Papers. Copyright: BBC.

The Yellowplush Papers

BBC Radio 4 comedy drama. 5 episodes (1 series) in 2009. Stars Adam Buxton and Annabelle Dowler.

Series 1

1. My First Employer

First broadcast: Monday 9th February 2009

Charles attracts the attention of an elegant gentleman, Frederick Altamont, who is pursuing the lovely Mary. Charles does his best to matchmake, until the awful truth about Altamont comes to light.


2. Captain Rook

First broadcast: Monday 16th February 2009

Charles helps his new employer Captain Rook, a wily and roguish cardsharp, to fleece a rich but naive gentleman.


3. Deuceace

First broadcast: Monday 23rd February 2009

Charles finds himself in Paris in attendance on a young aristocrat of very dubious morals who has fled England to escape his creditors.


4. My Novel

First broadcast: Monday 2nd March 2009

When a fashionable society novelist comes to stay at Diddlesex Towers, he inspires Charles to undertake an ambitious and scandalous enterprise.


5. My Debut In Society

First broadcast: Monday 9th March 2009

Charles suddenly finds himself a very rich man. He leaves service and embarks on a life of opera, society dinners and balls.