The Party Line. Copyright: BBC
The Party Line

The Party Line

  • Radio sitcom
  • BBC Radio 4
  • 2005 - 2008
  • 18 episodes (3 series)

Satirical radio sitcom about backbench MP Duncan Stonebridge (played by James Fleet), written and recorded the day before transmission. Stars James Fleet, Rachel Atkins, Geoffrey McGivern, Geraldine McNulty, Simon Greenall and more.

Press clippings

First Listen: The Party Line (Series 3)

The Party Line plays like a Yes Minister Lite. And I mean that as a compliment. Being Yes Minister Lite is no bad thing. The scripts are tight, with lots of twists and turns packed into each episode, and there's plenty of nice dialogue too.

Cool Blue Shed, 21st October 2008

Depending how cynical you are, now is either the perfect time for political satire or a deliciously dangerous one. This topical sitcom by Steve Punt and Hugh Dennis is about a backbench MP (played by James Fleet) who's utterly at a loss in the backstage machinations of Westminster and now finds himself challenged in his constituency by a rising female Tory star.

Gillian Reynolds, The Telegraph, 7th October 2008

Share this page