The Brightonomicon. Copyright: Ladbroke Productions / Hocus Bloke Productions.

The Brightonomicon

BBC Radio 7 comedy drama. 13 episodes (1 series) in 2008. Stars David Warner, Rupert Degas, Andy Serkis, Elliott Stein, Mark Wing-Davey and Michael Fenton Stevens.

The Brightonomicon

Fantastical comic serial about the mindbending netherworld of 1960s Brighton, as adapted from Robert Rankin's best selling novel

Comedy Drama
BBC Radio 7
13   (1 series)
Robert Rankin
David Warner, Rupert Degas, Andy Serkis, Elliott Stein, Mark Wing-Davey and Michael Fenton Stevens
Robert Rankin, Elliott Stein and Neil Gardner
Neil Gardner
Neil Gardner

This is the tale of two incredible people - one who knows he is incredible and the other who learns to be incredible. Set in 1960 in Brighton, self-styled guru and magus Hugo Rune rescues a young man from drowning and persuades him to become his assistant and partner in solving 12 mysteries. Rizla (for such is the young man's assumed name) agrees to help as he has lost his memory and has nowhere else to go. There then follows 12 of the most baffling, surreal, exciting, head-scratching and downright far-fetched mysteries ever written...all based in and around the suburbs of Brighton.

Across the mysteries Rizla and the audience learn about the Brighton zodiac, the chronovision, time travel, centaurs, a dastardly plot where the NHS kidnap vagrants for body parts, space pirates, the real history of Victorian Britain, Brighton pirates and the fate that awaits mankind should Hugo Rune fail in his task. And of course, there's a very bad man involved indeed - Hugo Rune's arch-nemesis of the ages, Count Otto Black - who wants to rule the world (what else!)

Production Details

Production companies
Laugh track

Broadcast details

First broadcast
Saturday 23rd August 2008 on BBC Radio 7 at 6:30pm
Last new broadcast
Saturday 15th November 2008 on BBC Radio 7 at 6:30pm
Length of episodes
30 minutes
Last repeat
Friday 8th July 2011 at 6:30pm on Radio 4 Extra

Website links