Revolting People. Copyright: BBC.

Revolting People

BBC Radio 4 sitcom about the American revolution. 24 episodes (4 series), 2000 - 2006. Stars Jay Tarses, Andy Hamilton, James Fleet, Felicity Montagu and others.

Revolting People - The Complete Series 1-4

Revolting People - The Complete Series 1-4

All four series of the historical sitcom set just before and during the American Revolution.

Baltimore, 1770, and shopkeeper Samuel Oliphant has much to worry about. Storm clouds are gathering, business is bad and to make matters worse, he's been forced to play host to two British soldiers. Hapless officer Captain Brimshaw is decent enough, but his fellow redcoat - the one-eyed, one-eared, one-armed and one-legged Sergeant McGurk - is a shameless rascal obsessed with money and sex.

Adding to Samuel's troubles are his family - his wife, Elizabeth, has become a lesbian, his son, Joshua, is a dimwitted giant, his eldest daughter, Cora, is in love with the pro-British Ezekiel Spriggs and her sister, Mary, is an ardent revolutionary....

In these four series, Mary tries to starts a mutiny at her sister's wedding; Cora falls pregnant - but the marriage isn't consummated; McGurk turns spy; and Ezekiel discovers the truth about his ginger baby (and sets out to find the ginger father). With war fast approaching, Samuel turns his shop into a bar called Sam's Place and helps an old flame called Ingrid, Cora discovers a gift for penning pornography and Mary discovers there's no place like home. And as the revolution hits Baltimore, Ezekiel is kidnapped by rebel militia, Captain Brimshaw attempts to broker peace with George Washington and Samuel and company flee to London. Can they persuade King George III to end the war?

First released: Thursday 16th July 2020

More Revolting People products