Adrian Mole: The Wilderness Years. Image shows from L to R: Harry McEntire, Sue Townsend. Copyright: Pier Productions.

Adrian Mole And The Weapons Of Mass Destruction

BBC Radio 4 comedy by Sue Townsend. 10 episodes (1 series) in 2019. Stars Harry McEntire.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Monday 15th April 2019

Adrian's diary restarts in 2002 with the Iraq War looming. He is 34 and single again. A young woman comes into the bookshop where he works and requests an unusual book.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Tuesday 16th April 2019

Adrian goes to Glenn's passing-out parade. He furnishes his new loft apartment on credit and gets to know Marigold.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Wednesday 17th April 2019

Adrian attends his school reunion and his relationship with Marigold moves on a stage. Parvez tries to curb Adrian's spending.


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 18th April 2019

Adrian attends a crisis meeting with the Flowers family, and meets Marigold's older sister Daisy. He tries in vain to end his relationship with Marigold.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Friday 19th April 2019

Adrian tries to convince Marigold that they are no longer engaged, while finding himself drawn to her sister Daisy. Tania Braithwaite holds a New Year's Eve fancy dress party.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Monday 22nd April 2019

It's New Year's Day 2003, and a hangover is the least of Adrian's problems. He attends an art exhibition in London with his new love, Daisy.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Tuesday 23rd April 2019

Adrian goes to an anti-war march in London with Daisy - and keeps quiet about his own views. He is summoned by Michael Flowers and given some unwelcome news.


8. Episode Eight

First broadcast: Wednesday 24th April 2019

Adrian makes several attempts to write Marigold a letter ending their relationship. The Iraq War begins.


9. Episode Nine

First broadcast: Thursday 25th April 2019

The Iraq War is underway and Glenn calls from Basra, where he is stationed. Brainbox Henderson comes to Adrian's rescue in more ways than one.


10. Episode Ten

First broadcast: Friday 26th April 2019

Adrian receives tragic news and finally acknowledges that he has been living a lie. Will Daisy stand by him?