Leicester Comedy Festival 2021 Awards nominees

Friday 26th February 2021, 12:00pm

Leicester Comedy Festival.

The nominees have been announced for the Leicester Comedy Festival Awards 2021.

The awards, set up in 2006, aim to recognise the contribution people make to the annual February festival and include prizes for Best Show and Best Promoter.

This year's festival - which also incorporated The UK Kids' Comedy Festival 2021 - ran from 3rd to 21st February. Due to coronavirus restrictions, all shows - which added up to more than 1,600 hours of comedy - were streamed online. This proved to be hugely popular, with the organisers recently revealing over 20,000 tickets were sold.

The full list of nominees are:

Best Show

Weirdos Comedy: Gary & The Crisp Factory

Tim Key: He Used Thought As A Wife (The Recital)

Esther Manito: #Notallmen

Stuart Laws: Single Father Of None

Fin Taylor: Irrelevant Material For A Post-Vaccine World

Best Festival Appearance

Ahir Shah

Louise Young


Joe Thomas

Jamie D'Souza

Best Podcast

Biggest Idiot

Pappy's Flatshare Slamdown

The Dinner Party

Comedy Arcade

Jessica Fostekew: Hoovering

Best Kids Show

Jonny Awsum: The Gag Slinging Guitar Hero

Paul Currie: Turbo Fool

Philip Simon: School's Out Comedy Club

Jeddy Bear & Gary's Picnic

Liberty Award

Jericho Comedy

The Joke Spot/Leicester City Libraries

Beyond A Joke series

No More Jockeys Live/TripleCeePee

Weirdos/Gary & The Crisp Factory

Best Promoter


Just The Tonic

Tickled Pink

Leicester Cathedral

Tracey Miller Community Award

A Place To Grow (Blaby District BIG Weekend)
Headway Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland
North West Leicestershire District Schools
Tiernan Douieb
Focus Charity

Contribution to LCF21

NextUp Comedy
Rob Gee
MerchAid/Cool As Leicester
DCMS/Arts Council England

Business of the year

Octopus Energy
Cool As Leicester
NextUp Comedy
The Rowleys Partnership

The winners will be announced at an invitation-only online awards ceremony taking place on Monday 29th March, hosted by Zoe Lyons.

A special Lifetime Contribution Award will also be presented on the night, to someone or an organisation who has made a significant contribution to the festival over a number of years. Festival producers will also present a Legend of Comedy Award to someone who has made an outstanding contribution to British comedy. Previous winners have included Barry Cryer, Ken Dodd, Victoria Wood and Johnny Vegas.

Leicester Comedy Festival and The UK Kids' Comedy Festival.

The nominees were decided upon by a panel of 26 members of the public who saw all eligible performances during the 19 day festival, and its kids offshoot.

Founding director Geoff Rowe says: "The 2021 festivals were clearly very different to previous festivals given everything was online. However, we still wanted to recognise the amazing contribution performers and others made to the events and we are still going ahead with our ceremony. We simply couldn't do the festivals without the involvement of so many people and the annual ceremony is our chance to recognise some of these people and organisations. Last year our awards ceremony was watched by over 4,000 people online and we expect more to join us this year. We hope everyone who was involved in the festivals this year will join us (and dress smartly!) to celebrate the continued success of Leicester Comedy Festival and The UK Kids' Comedy Festival."

Latest news