Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2016 shortlist

Edinburgh Comedy Award 2016

Below are the shortlists for the Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2016. Click on any title to be taken to the listing and see all the reviews they've got so far.

Best Show

Al Porter: At Large. Al Porter

Al Porter: At Large

James Acaster: Reset. James Acaster

James Acaster: Reset

Kieran Hodgson: Maestro. Kieran Hodgson

Kieran Hodgson: Maestro

Nish Kumar: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout the Words Real Loud. Nish Kumar

Nish Kumar: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout The Words Real Loud

Randy Writes a Novel

Randy Writes A Novel

Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do. Richard Gadd

Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do

Tom Ballard - The World Keeps Happening. Tom Ballard

Tom Ballard: The World Keeps Happening

Zoë Coombs Marr: Trigger Warning

Zoe Coombs Marr: Trigger Warning

Best Newcomer

Bilal Zafar: Cakes. Bilal Zafar

Bilal Zafar: Cakes

Brennan Reece: Everglow

Brennan Reece: Everglow

Jayde Adams: 31. Jayde Adams

Jayde Adams: 31

Michelle Wolf: So Brave. Michelle Wolf

Michelle Wolf: So Brave

Nath Valvo: Happy Idiot. Nath Valvo

Nath Valvo: Happy Idiot

Scott Gibson: Life After Death. Scott Gibson

Scott Gibson: Life After Death

The winners will be announced at a lunchtime ceremony on Saturday (27th August). The prize money - sponsored by LastMinute.com - is £10,000 for Best Show, with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize winner.

Notably, today's announcement confirms that James Acaster has received his 5th awards nomination in a row.

Nica Burns

Nica Burns, director of the lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards, says: "Two great nomination lists! 2016 reflects the breadth and quality of comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe with eight nominations for Best Comedy Show for the second year running. Four outstanding stand-ups, a female comic performing in character as Dave, a novel-writing puppet, a wonderful story teller and a comic who is as moving as he is funny. An international list with four UK artists, three Australians and a Dubliner.

"The six nominees for the Newcomer award are equally international with an Australian and an American, and the vibrancy of the Scottish stand up scene is reflected in the nomination of Glaswegian Scott Gibson and the Best Show nominee, Richard Gadd.

"Our hard-working judging team made over 1400 visits to shows. Congratulations to all the comics at the festival for a brilliant year of comedy."

The judging panel will now re-watch the shortlisted shows. This year's panel consists of seven professionals and three comedy punters, representing the public. Alice Jones (from the i newspaper) is acting as Chair. She is joined by Sam Michell (BBC), Laura Riseam (Channel 4), Claire Smith (The Scotsman), Dominic Maxwell (The Times), Saskia Schuster (ITV), Susan Provan (Melbourne Festival) and public panel competition winners Niki Di Palma, Jim Johnson, and Sam Haslam.

The below videos features footage from the judging room, and Alice Jones announcing the shortlists:

Share this page