Moses Smell The Roses

When it comes to the Bible I am a self taught person and I was never drawn to reading it.
To be honest most of my biblical knowledge is via Charlton Heston films and to a lesser extent Victor Mature ones.
However I know a lot of people I rate as 'Sensible' who believe in god , for my part whatever gives some one comfort works for me.
But I would be interested to see how many people on here rate the bible as a decent read ?

Quote: Teddy Paddalack @ 27th February 2019, 2:57 PM

how many people on here rate the bible as a decent read ?

The King James version of the Bible is one of the most beautifully-written books in the English language.

The reason for that is quite simple. King James didn't have it written by religious people or by academics: he had it written by the finest writers in the English language, one of whom was almost certainly Shakespeare.

I'm not a huge fan of the Bible as a historical document, particularly because there isn't a single shred of historical evidence that the Jews were ever enslaved by the Egyptians. Having said that, however, a great many of the stories are inspirational and the teachings of Jesus (whether or not he was in any way related to God and whether or not he took his teachings from older religions) are just marvellous.

Rood they say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover, but what you wrote there would make great synopsis on a bible with a a dust jacket. I think the collected parables are a way of helping on the same lines as Sesame Street but I don't really know much about it. Is the King James the same stories better laid out or totally different ones?

I echo Rood Eye's comments. I would also recommend the pidgin version of the Bible, as it is often much simpler than wading through that beautifully written archaic text.

Leviticus, Chapter 18, Verse 14, in the Pidgin Bible:
Peopo Dat Fool Aroun Wit Somebody Dey Not Suppose To: