BBC Transgender Comedy Writing Competition...FFS!! Page 16

Quote: Lazzard @ February 20 2013, 7:13 PM GMT

Not really.
There are many genres and subjects on which I wouldn't feel suited to write.

And I agree wih you. All I am saying is, say you was writing a sitcom or film and suddenly there was an opening for another charictor and they only fitted in as gay, bi, transsexual, for whatever reason, then as a writer I think you should (not you personally laz) be able to step up to the mark and not be afraid to do so.

Indeed. A sitcom based on being gay, trans, or other walks of life like a minority, whatever? I couldn't do it.

However, having a character within a sitcom different from my own experiences? That's okay. I know all of the above and more, know them well enough to know, well they're the same as us, just with different experiences!

The thing is, with this Trans comp, is it doesn't have to be ABOUT transgender/transsexual people, it just needs a character, as a minimum.

So all this 'pandering' to the smallest bunch of people is bull, anyone can join in, with any script as long as it had a character that was trans in it.

I think its just a simple case of research. If I was going to set about writing an action film about being in the SAS, I would have to do research about the SAS because I have never been in the SAS.

So if I was going to wright something about transgender or whatever then surly, research will get me the information that I needed.

I've entered this competition. Sent my script off last Friday. It was certainly a challenge but an enjoyable one. Not sure if it is exactly what they are looking for but I'm pleased with what I've written.

Quote: Nigel Ball @ February 20 2013, 6:52 PM GMT

Has anyone entered this comp? because anyone who considers themselves a all round writer must be able to write gay,straight,transgender, or whatever. I don't think its right for any writer especially sitcom writers to show any form of homophobia!