What ever happened to critique? Page 8

Legitimate, but rarely effective. I find that requires fire.

I remember when I posted my first ever sketch:

https://www.comedy.co.uk/forums/post/578347/

I had lurked for a few months and identified who I thought were some of the 'A-listers' were at that time and it made a big difference to get the likes of Badge and Dan giving feedback. That might seem a bit shallow I know but I would look at Dan's sketches for script layout etc., never having any experience of getting an idea down on an acceptable format.

I do try and give feedback but, I have stated this before, I am just a chancer at this writing lark and I have no experience (particularly with sitcom writing) regarding structure, story development etc.. I try to be constructive but I have been guilty on occasion of using the opportunity for a 'witty' putdown. I can see how this puts off new posters.

I think Showcae didn't help either and the quality of a lot of the things on there is variable to say the least. A lot of posts are just used to increase YouTube views.

I think it would help if posters let readers know what they expect from them. What alternative endings would make it better?, should I use tit or twat? etc.. 'Is this funny' normally elicits no replies and we all know (don't we?) that no replies = sorry thisis shite but I can't be arsed saying so because I either:

A) don't want to hurt your feelings (normally established poster's efforts) or
B) am pissed of that you have wasted my time with shite.

You've quite a decent style Will you should write more.

Certainly your use of character is very rich and you have a real ear for dialogue. You mix that with a great sense of humour as well.

I hope you won't join those poor empty souls who only write for News Jack and similar one offs. News Revue runs 51 weeks of the year and critique never sleeps.

Cheers Sootyj, that's very kind of you to say.

I'm as honest in my praise as I am in my slating.