Have sketches become less formulaic?

Have (mostly) one idea sketches become a lot rarer? The Two Ronnies for instance worked on different formulas, such as answering the question before the last one, or representing words in initials, or a 'cross-line' between two people on a phone. Admittedly, not all these ideas worked, but they seem to be missing nowadays.

I think I know what you're trying to say, but you've said it in a very odd way.

And no, I think a lot of recent sketch shows suffer from being far too formulaic. By which I mean having one simple idea that is flogged to death episode after episode rather than, in a Python, or Fry And Laurie style, coming up with new stuff every week.

I have limited experience with sketch shows (the shows from your side of the world rarely end up over here) but I think there is a fine line between having a decent recurring idea and overkill. So many brilliant ideas are made into single sketches that don't need to keep coming back, while some start out great but fail due to overexposure. I think Mitchell and Webb do this a lot. I think sometimes they just need to walk away.

Quote: Matthew Stott @ September 26 2010, 1:04 PM BST

I think I know what you're trying to say, but you've said it in a very odd way.

And no, I think a lot of recent sketch shows suffer from being far too formulaic. By which I mean having one simple idea that is flogged to death episode after episode rather than, in a Python, or Fry And Laurie style, coming up with new stuff every week.

Perhaps that's it, they flog the formula they've worked with, rather than looking for 'original' formulas, as it were. Trouble is, that to keep coming up with original formulas looks more formulaic, maybe. Using the same idea you used last week gives the impression that you're not doing the same thing Python did for instance. Maybe it's quite a ego-driven way of doing things-as if you're stuff's better than the writers who came before?