Day Job Of A Comedian?

I hear far to often that (unsigned) comedians and comedy writers never really have a career, most from what I see and hear have simple... "for the money" type jobs.

Why is this?

Is it to hold out for the big break?

Is it because nothing else appeals to them more than comedy?

Do they simply want more time to concentrate on comedy and having a simple job gives them that time?

Just a curiosity of mine.

Do they simply want more time to concentrate on comedy and having a simple job gives them that time?

Yep. I'm not a comedian, I'm an artisty writer type, but I have one of them there crappy day jobs because it requires no brain power and I don't have to take it home with me, so I can concentrate on the artisty writery stuff.

I'm in the Marketing trade it's very mind numbing stuff I gotta get something comissioned soon or I'll do something unsavoury to someone

Quote: Gavin @ May 7, 2007, 7:16 PM

I gotta get something comissioned soon or I'll do something unsavoury to someone

Amen to that. Err, I'm trying to say that I'm in the same boat. I have a shit job. I need to get something comissioned or I think I'll aklways have a shit jon. :(

I work in a bloody opticians during the day and they keep mentioning the 'c' word to me.

By that I mean 'career' which I don't really want, not in optics at least.

I'm a bit of a writer too, and I have a day job. I wish I didn't as I'd love to concentrate on my writing, and give myself time to carve out a career, but I have a wife, two children and a credit card to support, so needs must, as they say.

The trouble is in all creative work there's loads more people think they can do it than really can. It's just so competitive so we all have to keep going and trying. I've had a day job for 28 years (sorry to be demoralising) but I started thinking I was a brilliant songwriter and that I'd only be there for a few months. To be fair though it's only the last three or four years I've started up again.