The Big One. Image shows from L to R: Deirdre 'Deddie' Tobert (Sandi Toksvig), James Howard (Mike McShane). Copyright: Hat Trick Productions.

The Big One

Channel 4 sitcom with Mike McShane and Sandi Toksvig. 7 episodes (1 series) in 1992. Stars Mike McShane and Sandi Toksvig.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Thursday 5th March 1992

Deddie Tolbert is an unemployed copywriter and James Howard is a best selling romantic novelist. A dating agency wouldn't have these two in the same building let alone file, but fate has other ideas.


2. Episode Two

First broadcast: Thursday 12th March 1992

James's penchant for tidying up has made Deddie homicidal. Nothing will persuade her to let him stay, until James gets a bad review for his latest book.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Thursday 19th March 1992

James prepares an All-American Evening for Deddie at home. One problem - Deddie is going out...alone...or is she?


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Thursday 26th March 1992

James returns unexpectedly from Ireland to find that Deddie is not alone.


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Thursday 2nd April 1992

When James develops writer's block, Deddie only makes matters worse by offering to help.


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Thursday 9th April 1992

James's father comes to stay to meet his son's new girlfriend: Deddie... which comes as a surprise to Deddie.


7. Episode Seven

First broadcast: Thursday 16th April 1992

It is his last chance, but will James show his feelings for Deddie?