The Big Noise. Bob Mason (Bob Monkhouse). Copyright: BBC.

The Big Noise

BBC One sitcom. 6 episodes (1 series) in 1964. Stars Bob Monkhouse and Norman Rossington.

Series 1

1. Episode One

First broadcast: Friday 18th September 1964


2. The Ledge

First broadcast: Friday 25th September 1964

A man is sitting on the ledge of a tall building and threatening to throw himself off. Only an audience with his "hero", Bob, can save the day it seems and so the terrified DJ is lowered from a helicopter to try to persuade him not to jump.


3. Episode Three

First broadcast: Friday 2nd October 1964

The Heartbeats have become as big as The Beatles and that is a problem for Bob who has booked them on his show. In order to keep them away from their fans he hides them in his Aunt's flat - a situation she is more than happy with!


4. Episode Four

First broadcast: Friday 9th October 1964


5. Episode Five

First broadcast: Friday 16th October 1964

For once in his life, agent Willie Lyman has got himself an act that has had a number one hit. Unfortunately, he can't go very far without getting travel sick. Bob suggests that a few lookalikes might work the trick for TV appearances...


6. Episode Six

First broadcast: Friday 23rd October 1964