Mad About Alice. Image shows from L to R: Alice (Amanda Holden), Joe (Billy Hill), Doug (Jamie Theakston).

Mad About Alice

BBC One sitcom about a divorced couple. 6 episodes (1 series) in 2004. Stars Amanda Holden, Jamie Theakston, John Gordon Sinclair, Debra Stephenson and others.

Series 1

1. Handover

First broadcast: Friday 23rd January 2004

Alice's world is turned upside-down when her estranged husband Doug announces he has a new girlfriend.


2. Alice's Restaurant

First broadcast: Friday 30th January 2004

Alice takes her boyfriend to a romantic restaurant where she and Doug used to eat, in an attempt to prove that the place no longer holds any ghosts for her.


3. School Craze

First broadcast: Friday 6th February 2004

Alice and Doug are interviewed by the headmaster of Joe's prospective new secondary school.


4. Sick as a Parrot

First broadcast: Friday 13th February 2004

Alice's plans for Joe's birthday get hi-jacked by Doug, and Alice finds herself lumbered with a psychotic parrot that can hold a grudge.


5. Break Up

First broadcast: Friday 20th February 2004

Alice's sister can't keep a boyfriend for longer than a week, so Alice decides to do a spot of matchmaking, which backfires when she fixes her up with one of Doug's best friends.


6. Divorce

First broadcast: Friday 27th February 2004

Doug's girlfriend discovers that he and Alice are still technically married as they never got round to signing their divorce papers, so Doug calls round to ask Alice to sign them.